Board of Directors

Mr Colin Brown


Now into his second 3 year term on the Board, Colin brings immense industry experience and passion through his many years of involvement from stable-hand to strapper, to owner, breeder and now owner of Mogumber Park Thoroughbred Stud and Vet Clinic, which he runs with his Equine Veterinarian wife, Dr Fiona Lacey. Colin also operates a consultancy business focusing on governance, management and strategy improvement for sport and recreational organisations.

Ms Paula Sullivan

Vice Chair

Paula is in her second 3-year term on the Board, and in June 2018 was appointed the WATC’s first female Vice-Chair in its 189-year history. Paula is a lifelong racing enthusiast and passionate long-term racehorse owner. Paula works as in-house legal counsel for a state government department, providing legal advice and services for a wide range of legal and operational areas. Paula brings vast legal and corporate knowledge and experience to the Board, along with her strong voice as a woman in racing, bringing diversity and better representation of the industry’s consumer base.

Dr Rod Lukatelich


Rod has been involved in the ownership and then breeding of thoroughbred horses since 1972. He is a member of Thoroughbred Breeders Australia (WA) and WAROA and has owned and operated a thoroughbred agistment facility in Baldivis between 1987 and 2007. Rod sits on the Boards and Advisory Committees of various environmental research organisations; spent 28 years working in the oil and gas industry and prior to this was an academic at UWA. Semi-retired, he now works part-time as an environmental consultant.

Mr Brent Fleeton


Brent was elected by Perth Racing members in October 2022 to serve as a Non-Executive Director for three years. He is an experienced public relations consultant who is active and well-connected in Perth’s business and public sector community. Deeply committed to the future of Western Australia, Brent also serves as a City of Perth Councillor. He has experience chairing the Policy & Legislation Committee, the Audit & Risk Committee, in addition to representing Perth on Tamala Park Regional Council and the Development Assessment Panel. Brent completed an Advanced Management Program at UWA Business School in 2018, and the AICD Company Director’s Course in 2017. He has previously worked at NBN, the Chamber of Commerce & Industry, and the Chamber of Minerals & Energy.

Mr Guy Chalkley


Guy has more than 30 years financial and operational experience across a diverse range of sectors, operating and residing in most continents around the world. A financially trained professional, specialising in bridging the gap between operational environments and financial numbers linking strategy to business as usual, Guy is currently the CEO of NSW electricity network Endeavour Energy. Very people and customer focused, with a strong emphasis on team building and diversity, but crucially still listening and learning, Guy brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to his role on the Board sharing the wider global perspectives.

Mr Chris Wharton AM


Chris is the former CEO of Seven West Media WA. He was responsible for all Seven West Media assets in WA, including The West Australian, The Sunday Times and Channel Seven Perth, and in 2016 was awarded an Order of Australia medal (AM) in the Queens' Birthday honours for services to the print and broadcast industries and services to the community. Chris is on the Board of the West Coast Eagles, Gold Corporation and is Chairman of the publicly-listed Stealth Global Industries and is a passionate follower of thoroughbred racing.

Peter Scott

Elected in October 2021, Peter became a member of Perth Racing in 1975, at the age of 18, and has been a passionate supporter of racing ever since.  He has been involved in breeding successful horses and owned horses for over 25 years.  A Registered Psychologist with a Master’s Degree in Rehabilitation Counselling, he has extensive experience in workplace rehabilitation and services relating to improving Mental Health, and is Executive Chair of his own company – a leading provider of NDIS, Workplace Rehabilitation and Psychology services.  Peter also has extensive Board experience in the workers’ compensation and IT fields, as well as previously serving as a Councillor on the City of Stirling, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Carol Adams OAM


Carol Adams OAM brings to Perth Racing an extensive and distinguished background in the local government sector as well as strong legal, governance and strategic planning experience. A past board member of the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority and several professional and not for profit and voluntary associations, Carol will place a strong community and stakeholder engagement lens over the board’s strategic direction and decision making.

Ms Jo Davies


Jo Davies has over 30 years’ experience of working and volunteering in the sport and recreation industry at local, state, national and international levels. She is currently General Manager, Community Cricket at the WA Cricket Association and a member of the National Community Cricket Leadership Team. She is a Director of East Perth Football Club and was formerly Chair of East Perth District Development Council.

Executive Management Team

James Oldring


Tony Favazzo

Chief Operating Officer

Jason Musca